Last night I recieved an email from a company which claim to be a reputable domain registrar in china (names are disclosed):
We are the department of registration service in China.we have something need to confirm with you.We formally received an application on February 17, 2009,One company which self-styled “Path soft Corp” are applying to register (hhtimesheet) as internet brand name and domain names as below (hhtimesheet.cn hhtimesheet.asia hhtimesheet.mobi hhtimesheet.cc hhtimesheet.net.cn hhtimesheet.org.cn hhtimesheet.com.cn. .etc).
After our initial checking,we found the internet brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company.If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us,we will approve the application automatically.If you have no any relationship with this company,please contact us within 15 workdays. If out of the deadline,we will approve the application submitted by “Path soft Corp” unconditionally.
We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Okay
As soon as I received the email I suspect that something is right so I replied back and told them that this domain requests are not coming from our company or any of our partners and here is what I got back this morning:
Dear Sir or Madam,
We knew you have registered the domain name hhtimesheet.com and own the intellectual property (own the trademark hhtimesheet).This is why we informed you,But now Path soft Corp wanted to apply for other domain names and internet brand name you have not registered yet.Path soft Corp wants to apply the following domain names:
1. Domain Name:
hhtimesheet.cn hhtimesheet.asia hhtimesheet.mobi hhtimesheet.cc hhtimesheet.net.cn hhtimesheet.org.cn hhtimesheet.com.cn
2. Internet Brand Name:
hhtimesheet
If you have no relationship with Path soft Corp,according to our working experience,there are 2 possibilities:
1.Path soft Corp is a domain names grabber.they want to register these names before you and sell back to you to gain profits.
2.your competitor let Path soft Corp to register your domain names,let your customers feel confusion.
We found they are not the real owner of this name when we were checking.So we sent email to inform your company to protect your interest.As a domain name registrar,we have no right to dispute their application.As the company whose trademarks relate to the applied domains,you own the preferential rights to register them.If you think these domain names are useful for you,we can help you register these domain names within dispute period.If you do not need,then we can register for Path soft Corp.You must know that any party have right to register any domain name in the world without authorized.This is international domain name registration principle.For example, google.com.cn & google.cn had been registered by other company.And Goolge had paied 1 million dollars to get the two domain names back.We also don’t hope that there will be some infringement to the interests of your company in future.
There is a time limit.Pls let us know your decision soon.Waiting for your reply.
Best Regards,
Okay now I know what is going on. This domain registrar is trying to sell me the .cn, .org.cn, …. domains and this is part of their unethical marketing campaign. Look for new application and domains and contact them telling them someone is going to register the .cn and hurry up or you will loose it!!
I hope none of you fall for any of these traps.
UPDATED: And it it still comming I got two more emails from two different person from the same organization with exact same content, I think I can now disclose their addresses:
Kevin Wu
Senior Director
TEL: +86 21 69929440
Fax: +86 21 69929447
Website:www.qpnic.org.cn
Shanghai QPNIC Web Property Solutions Limited
Jake Shen
Senior Consultant
TEL: +86 21 69929440
Fax: +86 21 69929447
Website:www.qpnic.org.cn
Address: Room 301, 42th, nong 1519, Jinyuan 1st Road, Jiading District, Shanghai city.